Sense and Sensibility (BBC) 2008

Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen was her first published work and appeared in 1811 under the pseudonym “A Lady”.

Sense and Sensibility is set in southwest England, London and Kent between 1792 and 1797 which is outside of our Victorian timeline. But Austin is recognised as a precursor to many Victorian writers.

Untitled 1The story portrays the life and loves of the Dashwood sisters, Elinor and Marianne. The novel follows the young ladies their loves, romances and heartbreak. The 2008 version is filmed on location in Berkshire, Surrey, Buckinghamshire and Devon. It is directed by John Alexander and produced by Anne Pivcevic.  It has a great cast with Charity Wakefield as Marianne, Hattie Morahan as Elinor, Janet McTeer as Mrs Dashwood along with the excellent David Morrissey. 

The BBC translates the excellent wit and sadness that surrounds the girls lives as much as it did with Pride and Prejudice which is not that surprising when multi-award winning writer Andrew Davies who also wrote Bleak House and Pride and Prejudice.

This is well worth watching and you can read the book here

The World of Jane Austin


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s